Mes oeuvres
Mon objectif
Contact
Liens
Retour

Two videos (french) on:
Vidéo YouTube _ Vidéo 2 YouTube

I was born on October 3, 1949 in Avignon, and I have painted for about 15 years. I am an autodidact, and my style is essentially  academic, romantic, and influenced by  the past. My paintings, of a rigorous precision, are carried out with very fine brushes, sometimes with the magnifying glass.

My subjects are landscapes, street or interior scenes, as well as portraits.
My collection is made of copies of ancient masters, restylized in detail,  but also exact copies of  originals.  My canvas supports are big sized, prepared and tended on frame by myself. 
My technique consists in first drawing the subjects on paper, then applying  the cut out model  to the canvas in order to trace its contours. Then, I cut inside the model to carry out the interior features, and in the end I reconstitute the paper subject by resticking the parts. (Note: These models are offered with the bought paintings).

_ _ _ _

To define myself, in all modesty, I would say that I am rather multipurpose, and it is so far my big and only chance, which I owe to my late mother, who also had multiple talents.

However, for me, it was not always thus. As a child, my drawings were rather bad, like often at this age. Later, I discovered my talent as an industrial designer, by reproducing old cars, as well as vapor locomotives (my two great passions), according to photographs, and served by a rather fertile imagination in regard to the technical details…

_ _ _ _


At that time, I excelled in geometrical drawing, without having studied it, but I did not think I could have the same talent in perspective drawing (which was not used in my geometrical “plan” drawings), until the day when, leafing through an old “Spirou” comic strip, I fell on a drawing of “Boule and Bill” which spoke to me, asking me to reproduce it… what I made successfully at my great surprise! This was like a revelation. I did not know that I knew (drawing)…
Since, I never stopped practising in this way, progressively proving that training is not a sine qua non condition…

I also for a time created metal or wood models of trains and other machines, on basis of simple photographs, and with rather convincing results…

_ __ _ _

I also wrote a scenario for a TV movie, likely to draw the attention of some director, inspired by the tragic (and quite real) death of a young man whom I knew. This loss made me imagine a story mixing reality and fiction… This writing just requires to be read. It talks about human ingratitude, but also of nobility of soul…


As I formerly mentioned, I have worked on restylized copies of ancient masters. For example Vincent Van Gogh's “Potato Eaters”: my painting is of the same size than the original; the difference is in the character's sizes (those are twice smaller...). Add to that the resolutely academic style…
Another example: the selfportrait of the same Vincent, larger than the original (which is very small), also painted in academic style.
Also: the very famous “Dairywoman”, a quite exact copy, but 4 times larger.
As well as the “Flight into Egypt”, exact but increased nearly 10 times.

Vincent Van Gogh - Les Mangeurs de Pommes de Terre _ Vincent Van Gogh - Autoportrait _ Johannes Vermeer - La Laitière _ Rembrandt - La Fuite en Egypte

My reproductions may thus be considered as “alternative reproductions” rather than just “exact copies”...

My other works are most often inspired by black and white lithographies or drawings, which I considerably oversize and colour. Therefore they may be considered as an entirely new pictorial matter.

_ _ _ _

I wish you an excellent journey visiting my virtual gallery…

Do not hesitate to contact me and let me know about your reflexions, critics, proposals…
Sincerely yours ____________ Gérard Grallié ___Gérard Grallié

Mes oeuvres
Mon objectif
Contact
Liens
Retour

Mes oeuvres
Mon objectif
Contact
Liens
Retour

Deux vidéos en ligne sur:
Vidéo YouTube _ Vidéo 2 YouTube

Je suis né le 3 octobre 1949 à Avignon, et je peins depuis près de 20 ans. Autodidacte, mon style est essentiellement académique, romantique, orienté vers le passé.
Mes peintures, d'une rigoureuse précision, sont exécutées avec des pinceaux très fins, parfois à la loupe.

Mes sujets sont des paysages, des scènes de vie, de rue ou d'intérieur, ainsi que des portraits.
Ma collection comporte des copies d'anciens, restylisées dans le détail, mais également des originaux.
Mes supports en toile sont de grande taille, préparés et tendus sur châssis par moi-même.

Ma technique consiste à d'abord dessiner les sujets sur papier, puis à appliquer le modèle découpé sur la toile afin d'en tracer les contours. Après quoi, je redécoupe le modèle pour exécuter les traits intérieurs, puis je reconstitue le sujet papier en recollant les parties. (Note: Ces modèles sont offerts avec les toiles lors de leur vente).

_ _ _ _

Pour me situer, en toute modestie, disons que je suis assez polyvalent, et c'est jusqu'à ce jour ma grande et seule chance, que je dois sans doute à ma défunte mère, qui elle aussi avait de multiples talents.

Toutefois, en ce qui me concerne, il n'en a pas été toujours ainsi. Enfant, je dessinais de manière assassine, comme souvent à cet âge-là. Puis je me découvris un talent de dessinateur industriel, en reproduisant de vieilles voitures, ainsi que des locos vapeur (mes deux grandes passions) d'après des photos, et en m'aidant d'une imagination plutôt fertile en ce qui concerne les détails techniques...

_ _ _ _


A cette époque, j'excellais dans le dessin géométrique, sans pour autant l'avoir étudié, mais je ne pensais pas disposer du même talent en ce qui concerne la perspective (peu utilisée dans mes dessins géométriques, traîtés comme des plans), jusqu'au jour où, en feuilletant un de mes vieux "Spirou", je tombai sur un dessin de "Boule et Bill" qui me parla, me demandant de le reproduire... ce que je fis avec succès à ma grande surprise! Ce fut la révélation. Je ne savais pas que je savais (dessiner)...
Depuis, je n'ai cessé d'exercer dans cette voie, apportant la preuve progressive que l'apprentissage n'est pas une nécessité sine qua non...

J'ai également été un temps maquettiste de trains et autres engins, me basant là aussi sur de simples photos, et avec des résultats assez probants...

_ __ _


Ajoutons à cela un scénario pour téléfilm, susceptible d'attirer l'attention de quelque réalisateur, inspiré de la fin tragique, bien réelle hélas, d'un jeune homme que je connaissais. Cette disparition a fait germer en moi une fiction mêlant fait réel et digressions imaginaires... Un écrit qui ne demande qu'à être lu, qui met l'accent sur l'ingratitude humaine, mais aussi sur sa grandeur d'âme...


Ayant mentionné que j'ai à mon actif des copies d'anciens restylisées, j'en veux pour preuve, comme exemple, les Mangeurs de Pommes de Terre, de Vincent Van Gogh: mon tableau est de même dimension que l'original; la différence vient du fait que mes personnages sont deux fois plus petits... Ajoutez à cela le style résolument académique...
Autre exemple: un portrait du même Vincent, plus grand que nature (l'original est tout petit), là aussi traité en style académique.
Ou encore: la célébrissime Laitière, très fidèle, mais 4 fois plus grande. De même que La Fuite en Egypte, fidèle mais agrandie près de 10 fois.

Vincent Van Gogh - Les Mangeurs de Pommes de Terre _ Vincent Van Gogh - Autoportrait _ Johannes Vermeer - La Laitière _ Rembrandt - La Fuite en Egypte

Mes reproductions ne sont donc pas des "copiés-collés", mais plutôt des "variantes"...

Mes autres réalisations ont souvent pour origine des lithographies en noir et blanc, mises en peinture et considérablement agrandies, donc des inédits en matière picturale.

_ _ _ _

Je vous souhaite un excellent voyage dans ma galerie virtuelle...
N'hésitez pas à me contacter pour me faire part de vos réflexions, critiques, propositions... Gérard Grallié
Mon objectif
Mes oeuvres
Pour me joindre
Retour accueil